Category

Legal Advice
When you’re a small business, every dollar counts, and you may be concerned that hiring a small business attorney is a line item you simply can’t afford. Costs for small business lawyers in Florida can range from $150 per hour to upwards of $1,000 per hour for senior partners at large firms. Depending on the...
Read More
We’ll come right out and say it, yes. Yes, you should hire an attorney for your Florida-based business, and you should consider doing it right away. No, you don’t need an attorney on staff or full time – but you do need a lawyer you can trust in your corner at all times. The reality...
Read More
It’s a question we hear quite frequently: “Can I file a lawsuit against my insurance company even if it is not for a large claim?” and the answer is absolutely yes! For anyone who has had damage to their property, you know the kind of headache that comes with cleaning up the aftermath. Yes, money...
Read More
For most people, buying a home will be one of the biggest purchases of their lives. What’s more, aside from just the financial investment in the property, there can also be a significant emotional investment as well. Given such an investment, it goes without saying that property owners should do what they can to ensure...
Read More
Waiting to receive your insurance settlement can seem like it takes forever. We hear you loud and clear. And sadly, it can take far too long, as we’ve seen played out in claim after claim throughout the state of Florida. Our elected officials and the Florida Senate Insurance and Banking Committee knows it’s a problem,...
Read More
As a renter in Florida, you have to be more than just savvy. You must be attentive to every last detail, especially those that get spelled out in your lease agreement. After all, understanding what you will be responsible for and knowing when to hold your landlord accountable are important for protecting yourself if things...
Read More
Spoiler alert: No (if the claim is less than five years old)! According to Florida Statute §95.11, the statute of limitations for property damage claims in Florida is typically five years. Here in Florida, homeowner’s insurance premiums are among the highest in the nation primarily due to our elevated risk for damage caused by natural...
Read More
8In our Tenants’ Rights series on our blog, we’ve discussed numerous issues facing Florida renters and lessees. From understanding your security deposit to knowing what to do if you experience wind, water, mold or damage from some other disaster, the lines between who is responsible for what can often feel blurred if you don’t know your legal...
Read More
It happened. You never thought it would, but disaster struck and now you’ve found yourself in a position that requires you to file a claim with your insurance company for your Florida home. Aside from the emotional shock you may be experiencing, a torrent of logistical questions are also likely floating around your head. First...
Read More
If there’s one thing that’s sure to stir up conversation at the dinner table, it’s talk about the insurance claims process in Florida. It seems like no matter who you meet, we all have a story (or two, or three…) to share about an experience we’ve had with an insurance company. Very rarely do these...
Read More
1 2